Close

Bookstore

Can you put a price on knowledge? Meticulously written and carefully crafted by industry veterans, our RMP books are pools of knowledge derived from years of experience. Keep one (or two or three) at your desk to always have this invaluable resource at hand and refer back to it anytime you need a little nudge in the right direction.

Access book order forms by state:

Bookstore links hosted on Regfox

2021 Reference Card

General Tips & Reminders

Timelines & penalties

Trade Allowance CAP

Plate Price Increase Effective January 1, 2020

SOS Submission Timeline

SOS Penalties

IDOR Submission Timeline

Odometer Disclosures

SOS Affirmation of Correction Form (VSD 393)

Most common statements and errors made during the registration process can be addressed using this form. These include:

Include all required documentation with bundles.

DO NOT STAPLE WORK — USE PAPERCLIPS OR RUBBER BANDS.

Vanity Plates, Personalized Plates and Electronic Processing

Please note that vanity and personalized registrations cannot be requested via an electronic service provider.

Vanity Plate (First Time Issuance New Plate Fees):

$151.00
Initial Plate Fee
$94.00
Vanity Fee
$245.00
Total
$164.00
Annual Renewal Fee

Personalized Plate (First Time Issuance New Plate Fees):

$151.00
Initial Plate Fee
$47.00
Personalization Fee
$245.00
Total
$164.00
Annual Renewal Fee

Out-of-state purchasers

All vehicle purchases must have a tax form filed with DOR. The following states also must have tax collected that is paid to DOR. Note, your purchaser may still owe tax to their home state beyond what is paid to Illinois. You should always provide the purchaser with a return showing proof of payments to Illinois.

AZ – Arizona
5.60%
CA – California
6.25%
FL – Florida
6.00%
HI – Hawaii
4.00%
IN – Indiana
6.25% (RVs and cargo trailers are exempt)
MA – Massachusetts
6.25%
MI – Michigan
6.00% (up to a maximum of $7000 for trade-in credit or value)
SC – South Carolina
5.00% (up to a maximum of $500)

(Last updated January 2018)

Types of permits

Temporary Registration Permits (TRP)

Drive-Away Permits

Frequently dialed SOS phone numbers

Dealer / Remitter Helpline
866-825-7926
Dealer Licensing Section
217-782-7817
Title and Registration Questions
217-782-6877
TRP Helpline
217-524-4329
ERT Application Correction Helpline
217-524-5119
Drive-Away Permits
217-524-4329
Applications and Forms
217-782-7132
Dealer Supply Hotline
217-782-7132

Signatures on documents

Individuals

Individuals should sign with their “usual” signature, which may include less, but not more than their printed name. If the customer is signing as DBA, the signature must be the individual’s and may or may not include the name of the business.

For example:

Scott  Smith

Scott  Smith DBA Scott Smith Copier Service

Companies

All signatures for business entities must include the name of the entity and an authorized representative’s countersignature. The entity name may be stamped or hand written. SOS does not require proof that the person countersigning is an authorized representative of the business.

For example:

Luxurious Things by Ms. Fields

Lessor/Lessee

SOS does not require a Lessor signature on title and registration documentation. The Lessee should sign his/her name with their usual signature. If there are two Lessees, both signatures are required on title and registration documentation.

Trusts

The signature for a trust must contain both the name of the trust and the countersignature of at least one trustee. If multiple trustees are listed on the registration application, all trustees must sign title and registration documentation.

For example:

Carl Jones Family Trust by Karen  S. Jones Trustee